Packing, packages, and Packaging

Last week my focus was boxing up my Boulder bedroom (and garage full of bikes and skis), but this week I was finally able to concentrate on getting ready for the PCT. Over the past few days, I’ve made countless trip to the grocery store, ordered a bunch of random things online, counted and recounted mileages and calories, and called a dozen business contacts–the bank, my insurance companies, the post office, and friends up and down the west coast–to tie up loose ends to prepare for being “gone” for the next few months.

Let’s be clear: I don’t get a thrill put of meticulous planning. It can be a bit overwhelming for me.

But, this is what a five-day, 3,500-calorie-per-day food resupply looks like:

20130424-141944.jpg
And about 20 pounds of gear (it’s not all laid out here, but you’ll get the idea).

20130424-142131.jpg

It’s beginning to look a lot like I’m ready to hike 2,650 miles. It’s great. It’s terrifying. It’s exciting. It’s the kind of once-in-a-lifetime thrill that makes me grateful for… well, pretty much everything. Especially, but not limited to, my parents who have helped me keep track of the details.

20130424-142309.jpg

Thanks Mom and Dad!!

This entry was published on April 24, 2013 at 2:24 PM. It’s filed under Resupplies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Packing, packages, and Packaging

  1. Katie s on said:

    Mom & Dad are the BEST!
    Plus you are amazing.

  2. Kristy if you need anything while in OR just let us know, We are in Bend and can access PCT trail heads at several locations.

    • Thanks Scott! Oregon’s a long way off, but I’m definitely planning to stop in Bend! If i need your help on the trail, I’ll let you know; we’ll at least grab a brew when I’m in town!

  3. Brent Krueger on said:

    I am very excited for you. I will follow your blog with great enthusiasm. Best of Luck!

  4. bonnie siemer on said:

    wow… you are on a mission of life… how fun? and adventurous… i will enjoy following you …

Leave a Reply

